Students and alumni in Grinling Gibbons 300 celebrations

Shortlisted student Arielle Francis (BA (Hons) Historic Carving: Woodcarving & Gilding), with Alex Elinson (GradDip Arts: Carving)

2021 marks the 300th anniversary of the death of the renowned 18th century Master Carver Grinling Gibbons. A series of events, exhibitions and competitions is being held by the Grinling Gibbons Society as part of the tercentenary celebrations, including a national competition for emerging wood and stone carvers.

The Art School is excited to announce that nine of its current Historic Carving students and recent graduates have been shortlisted for the Grinling Gibbons 300 Award!

Shortlisted candidates have been paired with mentors from the Master Carvers’ Association to develop their designs for inclusion in the exhibition ‘Grinling Gibbons: Centuries in the making’ celebrating his life, genius and legacy.  The exhibition will launch at Bonhams, New Bond Street on 3 August 2021 and conclude at Compton Verney from September 2021 to 30 January 2022.

Current Art School students in the short list:
Arielle Francis
Jo Grogan
Tom Buchanan
Alex Wadell

Art School graduates in the short list:
Silje Loa
Sarah Davis
Oscar Whapham
Tom Clark-Collins
George Griffiths

We wish all those shortlisted the very best of luck in the final judging in August!

Miriam Johnson (BA (Hons) Historic Carving: Architectural Stone 2019)

Congratulations also go to stone carving graduate Miriam Johnson, who has been named as the winner of a carving competition run by the Drapers’ Company for Art School students and alumni, also in celebration of the Grinling Gibbons tercentenary.

Candidates were asked to submit ideas for a memorial carving, in stone or wood, to be displayed in the Drapers’ Hall. Three finalists were chosen and asked to provide detailed specifications including processes, materials and site positioning of the final piece. After much deliberation, Miriam’s design for a stone cartouche to be sited in the garden on the exterior of the building, was selected as the winner and her final work will be unveiled on 3 November 2021. Congratulations to the two other finalists Wilfe Gorlin and Lara Domeneghetti.


If the page is not loading correctly, please update your browser to the latest version.